Birthday Dinner!

26 Sep

A couple of weeks ago my handsome hubby turned thirty-two and I decided to surprise him with a delicious birthday dinner to start off his birthday weekend! I ended up making filet mignon, pan-seared scallops with bacon and spinach, twice baked potatoes and asparagus.

I had never attempted to make filet mignon before and was pretty nervous about screwing it up, so I followed this recipe. I used the pan-searing technique and  a meat thermometer to make sure that my filets were cooked to the perfect medium rare. I even attempted to make the Cabernet wine sauce. The sauce didn’t turn out that great…womp.womp.womp. I think I may have accidentally let the wine cook down to much. oops.

Sorry for the terrible cell phone pictures.

I found the recipe for scallops via a friend on Pinterest. It was actually a pretty easy and very tasty recipe. I followed it directly for the most part. I did use turkey bacon since that was what I already had. The scallops were really good, but this was my second oops because they were a little bit undercooked. They weren’t raw by any means, but they could have used another minute or so in the skillet.

I didn’t use recipes for the twice baked potatoes or asparagus. I just made them how I usually do. I actually started the potatoes first. I rinsed each of them off, poked a couple of holes in the tops of each with a fork and baked them in the oven on 375 degrees until they were soft to the touch. Depending on the size of the potato it could be anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour or more. I believe mine took about an hour. Once I took them out  of the oven I sat them on the counter to cool while I prepped and cooked the rest of the meal.

Once I was ready to come back to the potatoes I cut them in half (long ways) and scooped the insides out and placed them in my kitchen-aid bowl. Make sure to keep as many of the potato skins in tact as possible, so you have enough to scoop the potato mixture back into. I added a little milk, butter, salt and pepper to the potato mixture and blended until smooth. Once everything was mixed I filled each of the potato skins and placed them on a baking sheet. I placed them back in the oven to heat up for about 20-25 minutes on 350 degrees. The last five or so minutes is when you can add cheese, to the top if you choose. Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of the process since I was trying to make sure everything was done close to or right when Joe got home. Who wants to eat a cold birthday dinner?

I drizzled the asparagus with EVOO, pepper and a little salt and placed on a baking sheet in the already heated oven for 10-12 minutes. Joe and I like our asparagus crunchy and not soggy. 🙂

Before Joe got home I had a few minutes to decorate a little bit. I wrapped streamers in his favorite colors around the banisters and hung a Happy Birthday banner over the sofa. He was definitely surprised when he walked in!

All in all dinner turned out delicious and Joe really liked it, which made me very happy. Not to mention I had a blast cooking for him. He even commented about how perfectly medium rare the filet was. yey! I think Chef Ramsey would have been proud! lol.

We ended up just eating dinner, drinking a little wine and lounging on the couch. We watched a few episodes of American Picker and fell asleep early. I think it was the perfect way to spend the night before his birthday, especially since we had a jam-packed full day ahead of us on Saturday!

 

I still have more to post from Joe’s birthday weekend and from our anniversary this past weekend, so please be patient with me while I get caught up. Here’s to celebrating many, many, many more birthdays together with my handsome man! )

Try your hand at any difficult recipes lately? Surprise your significant other on their birthday?

 

Cheers! E

 

2 Responses to “Birthday Dinner!”

  1. Teresa October 1, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    This looks delicious! Why didn’t you make this for me on Saturday?

Leave a Reply

Mazerisms

Tips,Tricks, & Tales of a Busy Mama

MazeChesky-Tales of 2 Newlyweds

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

Aleysha Proctor

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

