Because I’m An Adult Now

9 Oct

So, I have been doing the adult thing for quite some time now.  You know the laundry, marriage,  grocery store, cooking, homeowner, cleaning, bringing your own card to the party-not just signing onto Mom’s.  But this past month I have realized it has reached a whole new level.

It all started with the President of our condo pleading for people to get involved and bring ideas forward.  Nathan and I have owned our condo for almost 3 years and have never volunteered, or even met a neighbor until 6 months ago.  I should clarify, when I mean meet a neighbor, I mean to actually know their name and have their phone number.  So yes, I am one of those people who have not been involved in the community but yet complain about the activities planned, which quite frankly are geared toward older residents.  But not this month…this past month I answered the pleading and decided to volunteer.  I sat through the entire board meeting where people complained about everything under the sun and suggested my idea.  What was my grand idea you want to know?  Very simple–TRICK OR TREATING in the building!  Did they like the idea? Yes! So, this year I am in charge of organizing our building’s trick or treaters from 6:30-8pm on Halloween.

Now, another realization of adulthood that I came to this month is the fact that I will be attending Homecoming to speak at Career Day.  Whoa, I know-my thoughts exactly!  I am not just returning to visit my favorite local watering holes, or to participate in a keg race against another sorority.  This year I will actually be an adult and will speak to students to stress the importance of grades, and internships. To top that off, I will be attending a sit down luncheon with faculty and advisers. Not sure where the time went or when I officially became an adult, but it is happening people!

So, what is the point to all of this besides me rambling?  Well, if you have recently realized that the fun of drinking is starting to wear off because it takes your body all weekend long to recover-know that you are not alone.  We are getting older and need to start doing other things such as volunteering, shopping at  Bed, Bath and Beyond on a Saturday, or throwing a crafting party(which Elise and I did-another post on that later).

George Burns was once quoted as saying, “You can’t help getting older, but you don’t have to get old.”  I must have subconsciously tried to keep myself young  this weekend after buying a filing cabinet because I ended up eating half of the bag of candy that I bought for the trick or treaters! So, it all works out-enough said:)

Cheers, T

One Response to “Because I’m An Adult Now”

  1. Drquardi November 25, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    Its a nice post. At first I want to say thank you for sharing with us this kind of tremendous posting. Its my personal opinion that, Buying is much more effective than rent because then we have the freedom to do anything for next.

Leave a Reply

Mazerisms

Tips,Tricks, & Tales of a Busy Mama

MazeChesky-Tales of 2 Newlyweds

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

Aleysha Proctor

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

