Mother Gerry’s Holiday Chex Mix

26 Nov

It’s here; the holiday season is here!  As my family can attest, I love the holidays-everything from the TV specials, the music, food, decorations, and yes even all of the family time-I love it!  This past Thanksgiving weekend Nathan and I came home early on Sunday so the tree and decorations could be put up immediately.  While decorating, I also had to make one of my mom’s staple holiday foods, Chex Mix.  I remember my mom, aka Mother Gerry, making a giant bowl of this stuff and we would pick at it all through the season.  I know everyone thinks their mom is the best cook, but my mom really is :)

I have added the recipe below if you are looking for a quick, easy, DELICIOUS, holiday snack.

Ingredients: 1 box of Chex cereal, 1 bag of pretzels, 1 bag of M&M’s, 20 oz container of salted peanuts, 12oz bag of raisins, 2 tbsp of worcestershire sauce, and 1 tsp of garlic salt

Chex cereal, pretzels, 2 tbsp of worcestershire sauce, and garlic salt

Combine the cereal, pretzels, salt, and worcestershire sauce .  Bake it in the oven for 10 minutes on 300 degrees.

In a separate bowl combine raisins, peanuts and M&M’s.

You will actually have to stir the mixtures to ensure the raisins don’t clump together.

After the cereal mixture has finished in the oven, let it cool for 20 minutes.   If you mix it too soon the M&M’s will start to melt.

Once the cereal mixture is cool, combine all ingredients and voila-happy snacking!

Now, I know some might argue that this is more of a trail mix but Mother Gerry says its Holiday Chex Mix and I learned at an early age not to argue with my mom-she  always wins.

Enjoy and Happy Holidays!
Cheers, Tara

Leave a Reply

MazeChesky-Tales of 2 Newlyweds

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

The Nest Blog

Home Décor, Cooking, Money, Health & Sex News & Advice

Young House Love

Two Young People + One Old House = Love

Aleysha Proctor

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

