DIY Christmas Ornament

3 Dec

This past February Joe and I, Tara and Nathan and a group of friends took a trip to New Orleans for Mardi Gras. As you would probably expect we returned from that trip with our fair share of Mardi Gras beads.

Mardi Gras

As we were unpacking our suitcases when we returned from our trip we threw the beads into a box where they have been taking up space in our guest room ever since. What is one to do with Mardi Gras beads? I didn’t want to just throw them away since they are a fun keepsake from an awesome trip! However, I was tired of looking at them just sitting there taking up space.

Finally a couple of weeks ago it hit me! Light bulb! Usually when Joe and I take trips we will buy a new ornament to hang on our Christmas tree. Since we didn’t buy any while we were in NOLA I thought maybe I could make my own using the mardi gras beads.  I thought it would be a creative and useful way to keep some of the beads we collected and five them more of a purpose.

While I was at Hobby Lobby a few weeks ago I picked up a box of glass ornament bulbs for $7.99. This was a really simple project and only took me about 3o minutes to complete. I picked out a few strands of beads in the colors I wanted. I also decided to use a few strands of purple, gold and green beads in two bulbs since they are the official colors of Mardi Gras, in order to remind us where the beads come from. 🙂 In order to get the beads into the bulbs I cut the strands and

Image

I started with a pile of beads and ended up with a bunch of really great bead filled ornaments. Since adding the beads into the glass bulbs made the bulbs a little too heavy to hang on the tree I placed them in a large vase.

IMG_1972

IMG_1973

IMG_1971

IMG_1976

IMG_1977

Leave a Reply

Mazerisms

Tips,Tricks, & Tales of a Busy Mama

MazeChesky-Tales of 2 Newlyweds

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

Aleysha Proctor

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

