Sometimes It’s The Little Things…

17 Dec

 

Joe and I have owned our house for going on two years. Since it was a to-be built home we were lucky enough to get to pick and choose everything from the hardwood floors, carpet color, cabinets and granite to the color of the light fixtures that we liked. All the walls are still the same cream builder grade color they were when we first moved in back in March 2011.

We have yet to hang much on the walls. Mainly since I am scared to do it myself and also because I have no idea where to even start in most places. I have pinned plenty of ideas of gallery walls, art work, etc. on Pinterest and haven’t actually made any decisions about where it would go.

Sometimes starting with a blank slate can be overwhelming when it comes to decorating a room or a house. I have made an attempt to do a few small things here and there to make our house feel like a home and to prevent me from feeling overwhelmed in the process. Although sometimes becoming overwhelmed is inevitable…picking paint colors is overwhelming and then the thought of actually painting makes me want to run for the hills. I’m not very good at it, but lucky for me the hubby knows a thing or two.

I think the hardest part for me at first was how to start decorating since we have an open floor plan on our main level. At first I wasn’t sure if the kitchen and family room curtains should be the same fabric or different. I took the pictures below on the day we settled and got our keys.

Image

Standing in the eat-in kitchen looking into the family room

Image

Standing in the family room looking into the kitchen area and walk out to the deck

It took about a year of living here before I even decided on fabric for our family room curtains. And the actual process of picking out the fabric consisted of my sister and I in JoAnn Fabric for about two and a half hours…literally on the floor going back and forth between fabric choices. #Indecisivemuch Once I FINALLY decided on the fabric my sister came over and worked her sewing machine magic.

Image

I really love how the curtains turned out. I hung them using clip rings. To this day that part of our family room for the most part looks the same. Minus the step stool in the corner (it lives in a hidden spot in our kitchen). I still need to hang art work and make throw pillows for our couches. The ones that came with the sofas are hideous and I hate them. I always make sure the ugly patterned side faces the sofa. 🙂 

About two months ago while I was at Lowe’s crossing some things off my “to-do” list (buying a new battery for my garage remote and a replacement water filter for the fridge) and as I was waiting for the sales man to come back with the right battery I took a walk through the curtain aisle. I had been looking for curtains for our kitchen window, but hadn’t had much luck. I wanted to find something that would be colorful, but would still go well and wouldn’t compete with the dark tones we already have in the kitchen.

Sometimes it can be something little and unexpected that gives you the inspiration to decorate a room. This time a pattern caught my attention and the colors in the pattern kept my attention! They were so pretty and bright! The pattern wasn’t over the top or too matronly looking and it was colorful. I checked the price and at $14.97 per panel I couldn’t resist! I bought two panels drove right home and started hanging them. This time a pattern caught my attention and the colors in the pattern kept my attention. These curtains were that little unexpected thing to give our kitchen a happier look and a jumping off point for me to put the rest of the room together.

I didn’t take a before picture and I couldn’t find a good before picture, so you will just have to imagine how terribly plain the window was before and how the curtains made the biggest and best addition to our little kitchen!

Image

For anyone interested in purchasing these panels they are Style Selections 84′ L Multicolor Bernard Curtain Panel.

About a month ago I decided to move a dresser that was residing in our master bedroom from our bedroom down to the kitchen and use it as a “buffet” of sorts. Not only did that free up wall space in our bedroom for me to re-arrange our room (it looks so much better now), but it also gave me some much needed extra storage space in the kitchen.

ImageAbove is the dresser once it was moved down into the kitchen. Pardon the light, it was dark outside when I got around to taking pictures.

On a recent shopping trip to Hobby Lobby I came across their decorative knobs. I found some really pretty blue knobs that I thought would be an easy and fabulous way to change up the once dresser and make it fit in better in it’s new home.

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageI am completely in L.O.V.E with how the curtains and the new blue knobs bring together the room. I am also happy to report that thanks to the curtains and knobs I have finally decided on a paint color! Wahoo! My goal is to tackle the painting very soon #wishmeluck! Once the painting is complete I will take care of all that empty wall space.#babysteps
Eventually down the road I would like to do something fun with the currently ORB (oil rubbed bronze) chandelier…maybe a little spray paint action to tie it in with the curtains and break up all the dark wood tones?!

Do you ever feel overwhelmed when decorating your house, apartment or condo? I feel like the more I do the more comfortable I get with it, but still feel overwhelmed at times. Remember to take it one step at a time and try to have fun with it. 

Have you completed any fun home projects recently?

Leave a Reply

Mazerisms

Tips,Tricks, & Tales of a Busy Mama

MazeChesky-Tales of 2 Newlyweds

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

The Nest

Home Décor, Food & Drink Recipes, Love & Sex and News

Young House Love

DIY Home Decorating Projects, Tutorials, & Shenanigans

Aleysha Proctor

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

Juggling Newlywed Life and All That Comes With It

